About RION

Andre Terzic, MD., PH.D.


Andre Terzic, M.D., Ph.D., serves as Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Company. Dr. Terzic has pioneered regenerative medicine at Mayo Clinic. He has authored more than 450 publications, advancing diagnostic and therapeutic strategies for heart failure. His work include team-science efforts in the dicovery of genes for dilated cardiomyopathy and atrial fibrillation. He led efforts in the development of next-generation regenerative solutions, including first-in-class products for heart repair. His scientific manuscripts have been cited more than 10,000 times. Dr. Terzic is Michael S. and Mary Sue Shannon Director, Mayo Clinic Center for Regenerative Medicine, and Marriott Family Professor in Cardiovascular Disease Research. His a professor of medicine and pharmacology; chair, Discovery-Translation Advisory Board; director, Marriott Heart Disease Research Program; director, National Institutes of Health Cardiovasology Program; and serves on the board of directors, Mayo Collaborative Services.

Dr. Terzic’s focus areas at Mayo Clinic include regenerative medicine and stem cell biology, cardioprotection, heart failure, genetics of cardiac disease and stress tolerance, bioenergetic signaling, nucleocytoplasmic communication and ion channel biology, and significance to patient care.

Dr. Terzic’s program capitalizes on emerging technologies to transform therapeutic modalities from palliative measures to cure. In particular, the ability to early detect for each individual the defining genetic and metabolic basis of disease risk and to personalize treatment by targeted drug- or stem cell-based repair has advanced the cardiovasular therapeutic armamentarium. Specific contributions include advancing the develpment of safer cardioplegia, improved drug selection in patients who have diabetes, and refinement of diagnostic and management strategies for heart failure and ischemic heart disease, prevalent in the aging population.

Dr. Terzic’s professional highlights include President, American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics; Chair, Council on Functional Genomics and Translational Biology, American Heart Association; Chair, Scientific Advisory Board, International Society for Cardiovascular Translational Research; Martin E. Rehfuss Medal in Medicine; Henery W. Elliott Distinguished Service Award, American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics; PhRMA Foundation Excellence in Clinical Pharmacology Award; Ueda Memorial Award, Japanese Society of Electrocardiology; and Benedict R. Lucchesi Distinguished Award in Cardiac Pharmacology, American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics.